Voters’ Guide

General Information


Ballot Questions

Past Voters’ Guides (pdf)

Other Leagues

picture of a political button that reads VOTE

Updated for RUNOFF Election Nov 14
Voters' Guide to the 2017 Albuquerque Municipal Election

Welcome to the League of Women Voters Voters’ Guide to the 2017 Albuquerque Municipal Election! The runoff election will be held on Tuesday, November 14. Early in person voting will begin October 25 and end November 10, Mondays through Fridays ONLY, between 9:00am and 6:00pm.

To use this guide, refer to the left-side navigation links. You can visit pages for General Voting Information, Candidate Information, Ballot Question Information, and review this and past Voters’ Guides in PDF form. There are also links to other Leagues throughout New Mexico and to the national League of Women Voters.

Now, for some background information about the League, this guide, who to thank, who did the work, and the inevitable disclaimers...

About the League

The League of Women Voters of Central New Mexico is a nonpartisan organization that provides information about political issues and candidates for public office in order to promote greater responsibility and participation in government. Because the League is nonpartisan, it DOES NOT support or oppose any political party or candidate. It does publish and distribute factual information for citizens to use when preparing to vote.

About this Voters’ Guide

The information in this Voters’ Guide was obtained by means of questionnaires sent to all the candidates, except those who are unopposed. Their answers are printed exactly as received by the League. Because of space restrictions, candidates are limited to a specific number of words. Also, lists contained in responses are converted to normal paragraph form. All candidates are listed in the order they will appear on the October 3, 2017 ballot.


The information in this Voters’ Guide has been carefully assembled and compiled to assure maximum accuracy. However, the LWVCNM and the LWVCNM Education Fund assume no responsibility either for correctness of all the information furnished to the League by candidates or other organizations or for errors or omissions. In instances where there is a question of potentially defamatory content, the League will defer to the opinion of counsel.

This Voters’ Guide was Prepared By

The League of Women Voters of Central New Mexico Education Fund
Created and Produced byAutomated Election Services
LWVCNM EditorKaren Wentworth
LWVCNM Assistant EditorJanet Blair & Amber Gray-Fenner
WebmasterCheryl Haaker
Spanish Page TranslationAndrés Maurencio Sabogal
County Bonds and Ballot IssuesKaren Wentworth
DistributionAndrea Targhetta
AssistanceJudy Binder, Leah Ingraham, George Richmond, Jan Strand, Mary Wilson, Susan Blasco, Margaret Magee, Brenda McKenna, Michelle Meaders, Donna Rigano, Peggy Howell, Carol Steeves, Ashley Benning
Information SourcesAlbuquerque City Clerk’s office; Albuquerque City Council office; City Council Services; Albuquerque Municipal Development Department Capital Improvement Program

Thank you to our Donors

Thank you to Our Friends Of The League Who Support Our Education Fund, which publishes this Voters’ Guide.

Alice Brasfield, Don & Michelle Meaders, Margaret Schmidt, Todd Tibbals & Andrea Escher, Betty Vortman

Mary Callahan, The Gray Agency, Inc. Marita Marshall Trust, Sharon Moynahan, George Richmond, Carol Tucker Trelease, Karen and Steve Wentworth

Janice Bandrochak, Ellen Evans, Shirley Kondo, Christine Little, Jeanne M. Logsdon, Mary H. Mulvaney, Shelley Roberts, Mary H. Smith, Jane & Doug Swift, Frank & Andrea Targhetta, Charles Wellborn, Helen Wright

Judith Binder & Mickey Bock, Susan Blasco, David Duhigg, Elizabeth Dwyer, DoraiFay Estrada, Phyllis Fredericksen, Yolanda M. Garcia, Diane & Don Goldfarb, Jami D. Hart, Donna & John Hill, Patrick Joseph Hoffman, Peggy Howell, Paul & Anne Isham, Carol Johnson, Summer & Norton Kalishman, Margaret Krahenbuhl, Sonia Lersten, Brenda McKenna, JoAnne Mercer, Ruth O’Gawa, Gail Owens, Terry Quinn, Donna Rigano, Lindsey A. Ritscher, Jennifer Smith, Emilee Stone, Jan Strand, Catherine Taylor, Aija Thacker, Robert Williams, Beulah Woodfin, Elaine Zipperian, JoAnna Zipperian